My tribute to Pastor Arthur Strong, Sr. … Part-2 : Leader, Friend, Teacher & Father

I arrived in Arizona in September of 1993 getting ready to start my college experience. My Father had just become pastor of the church I grew up in back in Northern CA. A friend of mine from high school decided to start school early in
Arizona so we arranged to share an apartment upon my arrival. I remember going to a youth concert or fellowship the weekend I got to phoenix. I remember that night oh so well. I had met many of the people who I would come to know in the months ahead. I met a few guys who told me about Pastor Strong’s church and that I needed to go check out his incredibly anointed son on the organ. I decided to visit that Sunday and that was it for me. After about a week or two I became a member. I felt so welcome the moment I got to Faith Tabernacle COGIC. It was a spirit filled place and I new without a doubt it was the place to be for me. The place was full of young people. And I did not know it then but my experience at Faith Tabernacle would be one that would ultimately mold my life. I needed to be there, and I needed to hear and learn everything I learned from Pastor Strong. His teaching style was raw, uncut and unedited. There were humorous moments, and then there were extremely serious ones almost to the point of fear. Pastor Strong loved the Lord and loved the people that that God had placed in his care to shepherd, both young and old. I never felt like I didn’t belong there or that my age (18) was a factor. At one point I was teaching an Adult Sunday School class which shows just how much he thought of utilizing the gifts regardless of the age. His family was and still is a blessed and anointed one. Every occasion I’ve had to experience their ministries, either together or individually, I have been blessed immensely. All of his children are examples of the best that the
kingdom of God has to offer. They all excel in their gifts in music, professionalism, and ministry. I have continued to insist that my time spent in Arizona watching and learning was a key part of making me whatever I am today. It was a crucial point and a pivotal milestone in my life and I am eternally grateful for the life of Pastor Arthur Strong Sr. My family and I will always feel blessed to be able to share any part of the fruits of his labor. Thank you for your faithfulness Pastor. Enter thou into the reward set aside for you and the joy of the Lord!

 I have fought the good fight. I have finished the course. I have kept the faith.Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”

2 Timothy 4:7,8

Min. Kenny Martin Jr.

5 Responses to “My tribute to Pastor Arthur Strong, Sr. … Part-2 : Leader, Friend, Teacher & Father”


  1. 1 Stefanie D. Moore November 10, 2006 at 12:54 am

    Hello Min. Martin
    I too attended faith. I was a young girl about 13 when you came through. I remember you. The words you speak are very true. I just wanted to say hello and agree with your words.
    Stefanie Moore

  2. 2 Evonne Du Four December 28, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    Kenny,

    Thank you for that. It is just beautiful. My family and I will cherish this tribute for years to come.My father has left some very big shoes to be filledI just pray that the impact that I have is a 10th of what has occured in your life due to his life. Tell Miya and the children I said hello and I miss you all.

    Love,
    Evonne

  3. 3 Kerry Vaughn December 28, 2006 at 9:12 pm

    Thank you Min. Martin. Sometimes we think that what we do serving the Lord isn’t noticed. You have just prove that whatever you do for Christ will last. I am encourage that if God could use my father to leave that impact on your life in a very short time, I am going to strive even harder to please God. I do want to hear him say, “Well done, thy good and faithful servant!!!”. Thanks again and may God bless you and your family.

    Kerry Vaughn

  4. 4 Min. Kenny Martin December 28, 2006 at 9:35 pm

    To the entire Strong Family…I pray that God’s joy and the comfort of the Holy Spirit embrace you and give you peace all of your days and that you continue to experience His riches in health and prosperity. You’ve already been inspirations to so many lives, just keep movin in God’s anointing and let it flow freely. And no……..THANK YOU!! 🙂
    Min. Martin

  5. 5 Kathy Strong December 30, 2006 at 1:01 am

    Praise God!!!! Min. Martin,

    It was indeed a pleasure seeing you at my husbands homegoing service. It brought back so many memories. All of the shouting and praising flooded my mind. You’ve always been a respectful and reflective young man. I hope to someday meet your wife and children. Please keep the church body in prayer!!!! God bless you and love you always!!!

    Mother Kathy Strong


Leave a Reply

advertisment

Categories

November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

